Backstreet Brit Funk Vol.2 compiled by Joey Negro - Vinyl Part One by Various Artists 2XLP !!

Backstreet Brit Funk Vol.2 compiled by Joey Negro - Vinyl Part One by Various Artists 2XLP !!

Z Records

  • $48.00

<p>Z Records continues its commitment to unearthing the obscure and long forgotten tracks from the last 40 years with the much-anticipated follow up to Backstreet Brit Funk. Volume 2 has been eight years in the making and continues to showcase the best of the genre from the late 70s to early 80s, compiled once again by Joey Negro. Brit Funk is perhaps one of the UK’s most under-appreciated genres. Emerging in the late 70’s and taking influences from jazz, funk, reggae and pop, by the early 80s it had spread all over the UK. Chart-topping mainstream bands like Wham!, Spandau Ballet and Haircut 100 tapped into the style and sound to help launch their careers, whilst Linx, Level 42, Light of The World, The Cool Notes and Hi Tension were all Brit Funk acts who troubled the UK top 40 with their own singles. Brit Funk was essentially the UK’s answer to underground disco, with musicians at first imitating and eventually developing the sounds they heard on the US imports that made it across the pond. And like disco, the Brit Funk scene was significant in reducing racial boundaries in the clubs and raising the profile of black and white musicians who worked together. Back in 2010 Joey Negro complied the first volume of Back Street Brit Funk: a collection of obscure and forgotten gems of the scene that found favour across the board. “I thought I had it all when it came to Brit Funk and beyond but then again I hadn't been round Joey Negro's had I. A crucial selection from a world that inspired a whole generation of DJs and bands.” Gilles Peterson The fact that it’s taken eight years for Volume 2 to see the light of day is a testament to the both the obscurity of the records included, and the logistical challenges involved in digitising what started life as vinyl-only releases, with only a handful of 12”s remaining in some cases.</p>


A Side

1. "Potion" - Rick Clarke

2. "I Can't Turn Away" - Savanna


B Side

1. "We're Funkin" - Proton

2. "Pacific Dream" - The Oceans

3. "Girls Girls Girls" - Kandidate


C Side

1. "Take A Walk In The Moonlight" - The Paul Bailey Sound

2. "Eternally Grateful (Unreleased Mix)" - Janet kay


D Side

1. "Sexy Lady" - Veira Krew

2. "Closer To Your Love" - Rare Moods

3. "Watching You" - Powerline

Label: Z Records